Slave Master

Standard

Beauty. Ashes. Slavery. True freedom.

Themes that have been running through my head. As I try to wrap my mind around Haitian culture, or at least Jubilee culture these themes battle for space in my brain. Beauty calls out from these ashes. There is more below the surface. But these people also call out for the slavery they reject. This country is the only country of free slavery. A slave revolt led to the Haitian people taking over. They rejected slavery so desperately they were willing to die for it. Now they beg for it. The slave mentality permeates everything they do, though they are several generations removed from slavery. But they beg for a master. They look for someone to control them. Someone to hold the responsibility so they do not have to. ‘My children are hungry, feed them.” If I accept the responsibility of feeding, taking care of or watching over the lives of children here, then I accept the reigns of slave master. Slave masters would demand work yes, but they would also take care of the slaves to a certain extent. Feeding, providing housing and work. These are the common things people come to us for. Feed these children, we are homeless, I cannot take care of my family because  I cannot find work. If I for a moment bend to “help” I am allowing them to give up their own responsibilities. If I feed a mans child, the man will from that point on stop caring to feed that child, knowing I can instead. Slowly but surely they will willingly give up every aspect of their lives for me to reign over. Down to the childs name. Our influence is that great. So where it may look like I am being mean or neglecting my biblically duty to care for the poor and widowed by refusing to provide food for the hungry faces, I am actually doing my best to do just that. By saying ‘no’ to free hand out, I am allowing them to stay in freedom.

I refuse to be a slave master. 

2 responses »

  1. really really well put , love beautiful !   Courage !

    Kathy Brooks  

    MUCH   www.muchministries.org “Jesus promised his disciples three things— that they would be completely fearless,  absurdly happy,  and in constant trouble.”  — G.K. Chesterton

    Office Stateside: P O Box 24599

    St. Simons Island, Ga  31522            

    >________________________________ > From: My journey >To: kabbtb@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, February 18, 2013 6:43 PM >Subject: [New post] Slave Master > > > WordPress.com >Anna posted: “Beauty. Ashes. Slavery. True freedom.Themes that have been running through my head. As I try to wrap my mind around Haitian culture, or at least Jubilee culture these themes battle for space in my brain. Beauty calls out from these ashes. There is more be” >

Leave a Reply

